Lacombe-Ponoka candidates at a glance

Albertans will head to the polls April 16, 2019. Ryan Remiorz / The Canadian Press/file

Share Adjust Comment Print

All stories regarding the upcoming 2019 Alberta Election will be linked here, as well as information on candidates. This will be updated throughout the election. Please note some story links are missing for stories posted before the Lacombe Globe’s website changeover as they have not yet been reinstated.

Ron Orr (@RonOrrMLA)
United Conservative Party (UCP)

Incumbent UCP MLA Ron Orr will continue to the the party’s representative heading into the next provincial election, with membership selecting him as the nominee with 69 per cent of the vote Friday. Ashli Barrett / Lacombe Globe

Ron Orr is the incumbent MLA for the riding who was elected for the first time in 2015 under the Wildrose Party banner. He was selected as the UCP candidate in September, defeated current City Councillor Thalia Hibbs with 69 per cent of the votes. Nomination contestant Rita Reich dropped out before nomination votes were cast.

Last election, he won with 6,502 votes (35.71 per cent).

Those looking to get in touch with his campaign can do so at  403-704-7130 or at his campaign office at 5005-49 St. near Hanna’s Seeds in downtown Lacombe.


Myles Chykerda (@mchykerda)
Alberta Party

Hans Doef of Blindman Brewing goes over the canning process with Alberta Party Leader Stephen Mandel and Lacombe-Ponoka Alberta Party candidate Myles Chykerda during a tour of the brewery as part of a campaign stop in the city on Tuesday, March 26, 2019.

Myles Chykerda will be running for the first time for the Alberta Party. He was acclaimed in the nomination race in October, and told the Lacombe Globe he chose to run for the Alberta Party because he felt politically homeless following the merger of the Progressive Conservatives and the Wildrose Party, seeing the UCP as being pulled “very far to the right.”

Last election, the Alberta Party candidate, Tony Jeglum, came in fourth with 1,205 votes, or just 6.62 per cent.

Chykerda has chosen not to open a campaign office, but is available through the contact form on his website or directly at (587) 447-1867 or


Doug Hart (@doughartndp)
New Democratic Party (NDP)

Doug Hart will be the NDP candidate for Lacombe-Ponoka in the upcoming provincial election. Photo supplied

Doug Hart will be making his fifth attempt at representing Lacombe-Ponoka as a member of the NDP. He ran in both the last federal election and provincial elections, the latter of which he came in second to then-Wildrose candidate Ron Orr with 5,481 votes. He says Premier Rachel Notley has shown Albertans she is trustworthy, and like the Alberta Party, sees the NDP as a new home for conservatives who felt alienated by the PC/Wildrose merger.


Shawn Tylke
Alberta Advantage Party

Shawn Tylke will run for the Alberta Advantage Party. Photo supplied

Shawn Tylke, a rural-area farmer, will be making his first political run for the Alberta Advantage Party. The party was formed by members of the Wildrose Party who weren’t in favour of merging with the PC’s to form the UCP. They were formally registered with Elections Alberta on Nov. 9, 2018 and the leader is Marilyn Burns.


Tessa Szwagierczak
Alberta Independence Party

Tesse Szwagierczak, pictured here in her downtown Lacombe office, is running for the Alberta Independence Party in the riding of Lacombe-Ponoka. (Ashli Barrett/Lacombe Globe)

Tessa is also making her first run as a candidate for the area, and is the second candidate to formally register as such with Elections Alberta.

Running for the Alberta Independence Party (AIP), she’s among those who believe Alberta would be better off without the rest of Canada and would like to see the province secede from Confederation, or at the very least, improve its autonomy.

The party was founded in 2001, where it failed to gather enough signatures to qualify as an official party so candidates had to stand as independents. As of March 21, the party has 50 candidates running in the election.


Keith Parrill
Freedom Conservative Party


Keith Parrill, pictured here at his Lacombe residence, is the Freedom Conservative Party candidate for Lacombe-Ponoka. Ashli Barrett / Lacombe Globe


Alberta Liberal & Alberta Green Party

No candidates stepped forward this election for either the Alberta Liberal Party or the Alberta Green Party.

All candidates forum

Those in the Lacombe-Ponoka riding spoke about their party’s stance on a variety of topics at the Lacombe Chamber of Commerce’s All Candidates Forum. Full story and transcription of the forum can be found here:

The Ponoka Chamber of Commerce held a forum on March 28 at the Ponoka Legion, while the Blackfalds Chamber of Commerce hosted theirs on April 8 at the Blackfalds Community Centre. The Lacombe Globe was unable to attend either meeting due to prior commitments.

Where to vote

Election day is Tuesday, April 16. Polling stations are open from 9 a.m. until 8 p.m. at the following locations:

  • Lacombe: Wolf Creek Community Church
  • Blackfalds: Blackfalds Community Centre
  • Ponoka: Stagecoach Saloon on Hwy 53
  • Clive and Tees: Clive Community Hall
  • Alix: Alix Community Hall
  • Mirror: Mirror Community Hall
  • Bentley: Blindman Valley Ag Centre

Those who wish to find out where they are supposed to vote can contact Elections Alberta at  1.877.422.8683, or visit